Inky Goings On.


I Am A Scholar. I Enjoy Scholarly Pursuits.
27 November, 2007, 11:52 pm
Filed under: Drops A-Line Jacket, Uninspiring Scarf

Honest. but not when I have a cold. I woke this morning feeling like a cow had taken up residence on my chest and stuffed a few Brillo pads down my throat. I’d planned to write on “Walter Benjamin’s definition of ‘The Aura’ and how it relates to Marx’s theory of fetishism commodity” and knit the arms of my Drops Jacket, but this cold meant I just didn’t feel like it. So I sat in the living room wondering what to do with myself, when the doorbell rang. Hooray! Mr Postman delivered a bundle of Manos Del Urugauy wool the boyfriend had ordered so I could fulfil his mother’s gift commissions.

So, I wound it into a (functioning!) centre-pull ball, and cast on. Can you believe it? I finally managed to make a centre-pull ball, with the aid of a kitchen roll tube.

I’d planned to knit My So-Called Scarf, but apparently the women they were intended for had specified super-simple patterns, and to be honest, this fit perfectly with my fuzzy cold-filled head. So I sat in front of Arrested Development all morning. Blissful. And future MIL’s scarf has grown thus far (apologies for accidental inclusion of breasts):

This yarn is actually wonderful, it feels beautiful to knit with, it’s the loveliest thing I’ve ever touched, and the colourways are so beautiful. I think I’m addicted.

In other news, I’ve banned the BF from looking at this blog, so I can state that I have finished Christmas Shopping! His brother’s getting a Boosh boxset when he gets back from his around the world trip, his mum’s getting the scarf above and I found his dad an English-French gardening dictionary (he’s building a house in the south of France and loves gardening). And for the boy, I have bought Arrested Development Series 3 (honestly, more for him than me. He got ME into it), a People Like Us DVD, Lolita by Nabokov, the Autograph Man by Zadie Smith and a pile of silly gadgets. PLUS I today purchased some Cashmere to make him a hat: the poor sod has a big head (“to fit in the astrophysics” he claims) and so I aim to make him a hat. I don’t know how I’ll get his head measurements. Maybe I can claims to suddenly be interested in eugenics.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love the colors on that scarf! Gorgeous!

Comment by Cupcake

Ah, Lolita is one of my favorite novels. I sometimes wish I could erase memory of it from my mind and then read it anew.

Comment by Katharine

It can be added to any food, or its powder can simply be sprinkled over any
food or tea to give that wonderful aroma, and of course lessen the pain.
They awaken briefly to take a breath but usually don’t remember waking
up. The digestive system comprises of esophagus, stomach, duodenum
and intestines.

Comment by Anonymous




Leave a Reply

