Inky Goings On.


Bandwagonesque
8 June, 2008, 3:10 pm
Filed under: knitting | Tags:

Yes. I think I might also knit Flintknit’s February Lady Sweater once exams end. Bloody exams. Which leads me to my next bit of blogging procrastination, courtesy of the lovely Philippa, who very kindly sent me some lovely Debbie Bliss Maya this week. Cheered me up a treat.

1) What was I doing 10 years ago?

Christ, I think I was in Primary School then, probably sitting my SATs and looking forward to Comprehensive school. Oddly, I just realised the dress I’m wearing today looks just like the school dress we wore in Summer. Nightmare.

2) What are 5 things on my to-do list for today?

Sodding revision: prepare for exam on 17th Century Emblem poems and Restoration Comedy. Finish blocking two birthday presents for friends with looming birthdays. Sew grossgrain ribbon and poppers on one of the presents. Cook cupboard-raiding soup for tea (hopefully this will be more successful than the itme I forgot I needed stock to make soup). Take my vitamins – Calcium, Omega 3, and Evening Primrose Oil. I don’t 100% believe these help, but maybe they’ll work as a placebo. But if I’ve busted them as being a placebo, doesn’t that ensure it won’t work? Pffft.

3) Snacks I enjoy:

I think I like snacks more than proper meals, really. Granny Smith apples, yoghurt coated cranberries, ice lollies, houmous and black olives. If living solely on olives was nutritionally viable, I would probably do so.

4) Things I would do if I were a billionaire:

Buy a house, and houses for a few friends and members of family. Pay for an MA and PhD and pay off the student loan etc. Give lots of money to Rape Crisis centres, so they could spend time helping people rather than having to constantly fill in pleas for funding and grants. I don’t actually know what I’d do with the money. I’ve spent so long counting pennies and strictly budgeting, I’d probably um and aah over every possible purchase. Or just buy a gigantic bouncy castle and an abundance of stupid things.

5) Places I have lived:

Newport, Wales (urgh), Pangangdaran, Indonesia (Woo!) and Coventry, England (s’alright). I’d really love to live in London. I absolutely love it, all my friends live there, I constantly see jobs I want advertised there, and I bloody love the Tube. Even at rush hour. I was so happy when I got an Oyster Card.

6) Jobs I have had:

River Island shop assistant (I haven’t ventured into a branch since) Lloyds TSB call centre lackey, George at Asda sales assistant (I couldn’t hack it and left after 6 months. They were so vile to me that I didn’t even give notice, just didn’t show up ever again). Constituency assistant – I loved this. Best summer job I’m ever likely to get. Library Digitisation person. Conference assistant and my current job, “Language Centre evening helper” – nobody’s really sure what I’m supposed to do, including the person who hired me. I mostly drink cups of tea, play on Facebook and tell students what rooms their classes are in.

7) Bloggers I am tagging who I will enjoy getting to know better:

I think every blog I read has already done this. If you’re passing, consider yourself tagged.

In other news, I bought a bike to take me to and from Uni, since I often need to get on campus before buses start running, or get mightily pissed off when I’ve missed a bus by seconds and have to stand at the stop for half an hour.

I love the basket and the fact it’s orange. Maybe the tweeness will deter would-be cycle thieves? What I failed to take into account when buying the bike was that i haven’t ridden in over ten years. It’ll be fine… I thought. At least until I went over the handlebars on my first attempt at braking. Luckily I had been cautious and experimented on grass, thus was bruised rather than broken. I think a little more practice may be in order before I brave the long ride to Uni…

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That’s pretty much what my friend activity looks like on Ravelry too!

Comment by Diana

Nice bike! I made a similar decision a few months ago and after a whole lot of practice, I’m now cycling in two or three times a week.

As for deterring would be cycle thieves… Invest in a sturdy lock or better still two, one for each wheel! 🙂

Comment by JulieS

Nice bike! I love bike baskets, and low step-throughs, and in addition yours is orange! Cool.

I always forget to make stock, so bouillon powder is my closest kitchen ally. You can drink it, too, although when they say it’s a satisfying drink on the label? Only if you’re a twiglet

Comment by Philippa




Leave a Reply

