Inky Goings On.


Spitting in Public
15 July, 2008, 11:27 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

After spending upwards of 15 hours on trains this weekend, I have learnt one very important thing: spit-splicing in public looks far weirder than I had previously considered. The part-bemused, part-disgusted looks I drew on the journey to and from Penzance have made me seriously consider learning a travel-friendly joining method. Though in truth, I don’t see how someone shoving two pieces of wool into their mouth is odder than the fact that there was a baby called “Tron” in our carriage. Some people, eh?

Enough of that – have some photos.

Being sequestered in the Midlands for the best part of the year, with no hills and no sea grows rather suffocating at times, especially since I spent the first 18 years of my life surrounded by mountains and valleys. It was wonderful to just be able to walk alongside the sea every morning and evening (and saved having to blow dry my hair). We went walking along the coastal path with its steep stone steps hewn in the hills, which was just challenging enough to feel as though we’d accomplished something. I did feel mightily brave when faced with a rocky path about as wide as one of my feet, with a 40 foot drop into the sea on one side and a gigantic patch of nettles on the other, but somehow managed to run across it to try and avoid freaking out. The sea air was particularly chilly, but luckily I was wearing this:

The fiished tree jacket, whilst a bit baggy for everyday wear, works perfectly as a jumper for walking, fitting over a thinner jumper, and successfully keeping me warm.

Pattern: Tree Jacket by Zephyr Style

Needles: 5mm Knitpicks Options

Yarn: Cascade 220 Heathers (4.5 balls)

Mods: I made the arms a little shorter, since I always end up pushing the arms up to my elbows anyway. Also, substituted the garter stitch yoke and arms for stockinette. Shortened the neck too. The pattern was really clear and easy to follow. Thought it was slightly too large around the armpit area though. Wasn’t too sure about it when it was blocking, but it’s very functional.

And now I have started the ubiquitous February Lady Sweater, in Noro Cash Iroha, since I was fed up of waiting for my Dream In Colour yarn to arrive from America. As anticipated, it turned up the day I went on holiday, and according to the post office slip, they had it for a week before alerting me to this fact. Sodding Royal Mail. Here’s a peek at current progress:

It’s more of a royal blue than the photo suggests. Can’t wait to finish it. Would it be so wrong to knit another one in the DIC Classy?

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Your sweater is fabulous! I like the pictures too. And Tron is a bizarre name isn’t it!

Comment by Lin

I laughed reading the first part of this. I know what you mean, I get the weirdest looks too from the whole yarn-in-the-mouth thing. Love the sweater, I actually just purchased the pattern and so am pretty excited to see it knit by someone and modeled. Your pics are awesome!!

Comment by raina

You can discreetly spit into the palm of your hand, then place the two overlapping ends in the pool of spit and splice away merrily. Admittedly it’s not the most normal activity, but maybe a bit less noticeable than trailing yarn out of your mouth!

I miss Cornwall. Sigh. My grandparents lived there ’til my grandpa had a stroke when I was fifteen, and we used to spend much of our holidays on their farm. Thanks for the lovely pics.

Comment by Philippa




Leave a Reply

