Inky Goings On.


A Play
22 July, 2008, 9:35 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Me: Look at that – take a photo!

Boy: Ha ha! How odd.

Me: You’re going a bit bald on top, you could wear it on your head.

Boy: NO.

Me: I could knit you a toupée. Bit of fun fur. Nice and subtle.

Boy: Or a Hallowig.

Me: What? How do you know about that?

Boy: I just do.

I think he takes in a bit more than I give him credit for. The question now, is: do I secretly knit him one? Or is it a waste of effort? I tend to try and knit things I think will be used: with the amount of time I invest in these projects, I’d like to get a bit of wear or use out of them. I did, however knit something completely useless for a swap recently:

It’s a Dalmation Mouse from the Royal Tenenbaums. I took inordinate pleasure in knitting something so silly, and also in making up my own pattern. It was also my first attempt at i-cord. Why had I always assumed it was so hard?

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Love the mouse! Although, I’ve ended up watching a lot of “quirky American Indie” films lately and am a bit worried that the proliferation of Anderson-a-likes is making me like Anderson less. Eek! (As, I suppose, the mouse would say.)

Comment by SRW

That’s one of my all-time favorite films. Love the mouse.

Comment by mick

What a cute mouse!

Comment by Lin

I love the dalmatian mouse!!! What a fabulous idea. That Wes Anderson is a genius.

Comment by Jodi

Wow! We love your mouse. We watched the Royal Tenenbaums in Matthew’s room about 4 days ago. Please can you knit us a mouse? A dalmation one… x

Comment by Matthew & Charlotte




Leave a Reply

